Search our Ski Packages
Faq view

Where can I ski and snowboard in the South Island?

There are 5 major ski fields in the South Island which accommodate skiers and snowboarders and there are also a number of small family owned and club ski fields.

The 5 main ski fields are:

  • Cardrona Ski Resort and Treble Cone, located near Wanaka;
  • The Remarkables and Coronet Peak, located near Queenstown;
  • And Mt Hutt which is located near Methven (1 hour from Christchurch).

Many of the club fields are located near Arthurs pass while Roundhill, located near Lake Tekapo, and Ohau (near Twizel) are popular small ski fields.

If you are staying longer than a few days and would like some variety, we suggest you base yourself in Queenstown or Wanaka where you can enjoy 4 ski fields plus the fantastic winter holiday activities the region has to offer.

For more information on the ski fields visit our Skiing in NZ page.

Check our other frequent questions

Browse by category below

Or get in touch with the team if you have a specific question.

Or, read our blogs

We've spent years exploring the New Zealand mountains. We live and breathe skiing in NZ and love to share it with you.
Over the years we have documented our experiences in our blogs, take a look and get recommendations on weather, where to go, clothes to wear and all that's in between.