Call us on
+64 3 443 0812 +64 3 443 0812
Don't just take our word for it...
You'll have a ball learning to ski or snowboard at the Remarkables and Ski New Zealand will make sure your first time is the best time.

South Island Ski Areas

ski packages and holidays in New Zealand's South Island Mt Hutt Roundhill Treble Cone Cardrona Coronet Peak The Remarkables

Our guest book

The following feedback from our guests is unedited and might help you with the planning of your winter holiday and your decision to book with us. Our company philosophy is based on honest, useful and relevant information. If you have a specific question about any feedback comments don't hesitate to let us know.

You can specify a specific subject to search through the feedback by entering this into the search box below i.e. enter 'Wanaka' to see what guests have to say about this.


Karon, Stephen, Sarah, Phoebe & Angus Baker, Wanaka and Cardrona First-timers Ski Holiday, Travelled on 14th September 2016

Hi Louise. Just wanted to give you a huge thanks for setting up such a wonderful holiday for our family. We've all had a ball. The kids especially loved the snow component and Angus and Phoebe moved up to intermediate skiers at the end of day 1. Unfortunately Sarah chose to board instead of ski and ended up with a concussion at the start of day 2 so Stephen ended up swapping her ticket for him and he spent the day skiing on Sunday. The kids have all declared it The Best Holiday EVER!!! They've also asked if we can come back again so you'll hear from us for sure. The Clearbrook apartments were lovely and the staff were delightful, so we'd highly recommend them to any family wanting an easy and comfortable place to stay with kids. Thank you again Stephen, Karon, Sarah, Phoebe and Angus Baker

Viv Quee, Martyn, Liam & Erin Davis, Mt Hutt Ski Holiday, Travelled on 26th September 2016

Hi Louise, We the Davis family, would like to thank you for the terrific ski package you arranged for us so ably and professionally. Everything went smoothly from arrival instructions at the airport, itinerary package sent to our motel, and your flexibility when I asked for things to be altered. I would recommend you to friends and family, My daughter learnt to snowboard for the first time and was a natural, and I ended up having an afternoon of skiing, pretty chuffed that I could do it after 20 odd years! Regards, Viv

Michael, Sonya, Chloe and Joshua Broderick, 5 Day Wanaka Ski Holiday, Travelled on 19th September 2016

Thanks for all of your help in organising our NZ Holiday. We had an awesome time and can't wait for our next trip to NZ.

Matina & Steve Zakkas, Custom 10 Day Luxury Queenstown Beginners Ski Adventure, Travelled on 10th September 2016

Hi NZSki, A huge thank you for making our family's first skiing trip the MOST amazing experience. All your recommendations were spot on! The whole 10 days were superbly organized. The Glebe apartments were in an excellent location and the ski lessons were essential. See you soon we hope. Matina and family

Shane and Bree Coleman and Kylie and Sarah Kelynack, 6 Day Queenstown Ski Adventure Holiday, Travelled on 25th June 2016

Hello Charlie Just wanted to thank you had a great holiday and everything was easy to use so thanks for a great holiday Regards Shane Coleman

Jackie & Deirdre Moore, 3 Day Taste Of Winter New Zealand Ski Holiday, Travelled on 10th August 2015

Myself and my sister Dee truly enjoyed our ski holiday. We still tell our friends story's and recommend in trying it. Jane thank you so much for all your help. I am already thinking about buying a pass early this year so I'll see you on the slopes again at cardrona

Joseph, Marianna, Angela & Alexander Sikpa, 9 Day New Zealand Family Winter Holiday, Travelled on 6th September 2015

We had our NZ winter holiday organized by Ski New Zealand (Jane, to be exact) and I'm glad I came across this website on the net!!! We had an amazing time on the South Island. We'd seen some of the most amazing places that we've ever seen. Yeah, full stop! And apart from thinking about what the family will want to eat the next day, we hardly had to do anything. It was perfectly organized, anywhere we rocked up, they always new about us, they expected us, we really didn't have to do anything!!! The itinerary was clear and perfectly understandable, the recommended programs were top notch. Really, not one single hick up during our 9 day stay! Can't praise Ski NZ and Jane's effort highly enough!!! We'll be back! If I can recommend anything to anybody, plz do yourself a favor and DO! - Air Safaris glacier scenic flight from Franz Josef Airport, Doubtful Sound trip and the Tasman Glacier Explorer tour (with floating icebergs!) at Mt Cook!!! Breathtaking!!! Highly recommended tour organizer!!!

Graeme, Marina, Simon & Max Hooper, Six Day Customised Queenstown Family Ski Holiday, Travelled on 19th September 2015

This was the best holiday we've experienced in years, thanks to Laura of Skinewzealand. Booked as a special surprise for my husbands birthday, Laura could not have done more to organise every tiny detail to perfection while keeping the surprise secret for months. The accommodation was fabulous, the ski package more than we could have wished for, and the weather glorious, the snow perfect. What more could we want.? Another holiday next year with this great company. Thank you very much Laura.

Patrick & Lee-Anne Ledru, 16 day South Island Natural Discovery self drive tour, Travelled on 25th September 2014

We booked a 16 days tour with NZ Self Drive Tours and we have been more than satisfied by the experience. We felt that everything has been done to make sure we had an excellent trip. We will keep fond memories of our trip, too many to describe there but we particularly enjoyed the Doubtful Sound overnight cruise. A must! We had only the disappointment to miss the helicopter flight at Franz Joseph Glacier due to bad weather. It will be for the next time. A special thank-you to Michelle who have been looking after us all the time and has been only a phone call away when needed. If “word of mouth” advertising works, we will surely contribute! Patrick & Lee-Anne

Justine Teggelove & Michelle MacDonald, Southern Alps & Southern Lakes Self Drive Tour, Travelled on 19th September 2014

We had the most wonderful holiday driving around the South Island. Shelley had arranged everything, so all we had to do was turn up! The accommodation, tours, hire car and transport were fantastic. As everything was so well organised, it meant we were able to relax and truly enjoy the wonderful delights of New Zealand. Thank you Shelley for making our holiday so enjoyable. Justine and Michelle

Ines Scholl & Christian Subner, Custom Northbound Explorer - Christchurch to Auckland Tour, Travelled on 31st August 2014

We enjoyed our tour it was great! Our Feedback in German would be: "Wir würden immer wieder mit New Zealand Fine Touring fahren, alles hat perfekt geklappt! Danke"

Yang & Ruiying Wang, Xin Wen & Chuqi Jiang, Auckland to Christchurch 10 day Splendour, Travelled on 29th September 2014

I owe Michelle a big thank for her kind arrangements of our little trip from Auckland to Christchurch! I was running on a limited time and budget, and Michelle helped to choose the one best suitable to me. Upon our arrival, everything goes exactly as the itinerary said (except the Kaikoura Whale Watch, which is cancelled due to bad sea weather), and the voucher book proves to be of most convenience to us wherever we go! Accommodations are up to our expectation, the suggested activities are fun, and I really enjoyed our ride across the country. Again, thank you, Michelle, and I shall definitely go back to visit this amazing country again!

Menankutty & Arshad Party, Central Highlights self drive tour, Travelled on 13th September 2014

The whole arrangement was excellent, Thank you very much NZ SELF DRIVE Tour for great experience that I had during my recent visit to New Zealand. Special thanks goes to Ms Verity Gemmell for a very prompt service and accommodating my request in small changes my the itinerary. We would surely recommend our relatives and friends to contact NZ Self Drive Tour should they wish to visit New Zealand in the future. Thank you again from me and my wife for the great experience in New Zealand. Regards. SULAIMAN MENANKUTTY - Malaysia.

Yolanda, Carlos and Miguel Sepulveda, Custom Family Tour in New Zealand, Travelled on 11th July 2014

Hello Michelle, I just want to say thanks for the trip you organized for us. NZ is great, and I enjoyed it very much, everything on time, great quality in the hotels, tours, services and you have a great country, I hope someday will have the opportunity to visit in summer. Thanks again!

Steve Mckenna & Tim Tyson, Customised 13 day Southern Highlights, Travelled on 9th July 2014

We had an incredible vacation! New Zealand has now replaced Norway as our favorite country on earth, and that was quite an accomplishment. The country was beautiful and the itinerary close to perfect. And the hotels! They were all good, but several were truly stunning. One highlight was the stunning restaurant at Whare Kea, where we had the luck of being on the only guests, as the chef made a 5 course meal just for us, on our 10th anniversary !! We could not have planned it any better. The Matakauri Lodge also deserves special mention as a stunning place, with exceptional facilities, setting and service.

Patrick Charles, Christine and Meg O'Mahony, Coast to Coast self drive tour, Travelled on 23rd May 2014

We have not long returned from our NZ holiday to the South Island. Shelley did a fantastic job organising our itinerary. In the beginning I thought maybe it was better to plan our own holiday but I am very glad we decided to go with this option. Everything was so easy from the moment we landed at Christchurch airport with a driver to meet us. Our hire car was dropped to our motel which also made things incredibly easy. The standard of accomodation was extremely good. The Amore in Christchurch deserves a particular mention for the amazing service we received and the motel in Dunedin (858 on George) was also really lovely. The only accommodation I was disappointed with was Mt. Cook as our room was very much in need of a refurbishment and the al a carte restaurant was particulary underwhelming given the price. Mt. Cook itself however was stunning especially as it snowed the day we arrived. All the activities you suggested were fantastic. We especially enjoyed the Dart River Wildnerness Safari in Queenstown and the wildlife cruise of the Otago Peninsular from Dunedin. We experienced heavy snow at the beginning of our trip and Shelley did a great job keeping us up to date with road closures etc. I have already recommended your services to my friends and family should they be planning a trip to NZ.

Allan & Lynn Kross, Discover New Zealand Tour, Travelled on 21st May 2014

Hi Michelle, Just a quick note to say a very big thank you for all your help with our very first over seas trip for both Lyn and I. We had a ball the whole time, even though due to the weather a couple of the exertions were either cancelled or altered slightly. Having the freedom of self driving through the South Island of New Zealand was great We seen New Zealand at its best and worst (weather wise) and enjoyed all of it. Seeing it snow at Queenstown was probably the biggest highlight, could not have timed it better. Anyway, thank you again, we will be back to have a look at the North Island and do the South during summer also, see you then.

Peter & Roslyn McDonald, Customised Essential South Island Tour, Travelled on 4th May 2014

We decided on our tour of NZ South Island at very short notice. We contacted NZ Self Drive Tours and they very quickly put together a package for us that met our needs for our available time. Our experience was fantastic, everything that was promised was delivered on time and without fuss. The activities planned were first rate and our accommodation fantastic. We would recommend NZ Self Drive Tours to any one wanting to take the fuss out of organising their own trip - cheers Peter & Roslyn

Lynette & Jeffrey Spence, Auckland to Queenstown self drive tour, Travelled on 5th April 2014

The rental car company (Europcar) refused to pick us up for delivery of our rental car as promised d/t the Auckland triathlon being held during our stay. It took several phone calls, but we were able to finally secure a vehicle. NZFT was responsive and did assist with the mix up. They also did reimburse us for the taxi fare back to the airport but it was a bit of a disappointing start to the holiday. The accommodations that they had arranged were all wonderful. Wishing we had had better weather to enjoy our beach views in Napier at the Pebble Beach Motor Inn and the Anchor Inn in Kaikoura -unfortunately the remnants of Tropical Cyclone Ita made themselves a nuisance for most of our stay (totally out of NZFT's control :-) ) - we however carried on and explored this beautiful country and met wonderful people. NZFT also provided detailed step by step instructions to get from place to place which was helpful. I would use NZFT again to assist in arranging a holiday to NZ. For some of our pictures, you can visit their FB page. Lynette - Florida USA

Bob & Gail McMullin, North to South 20 day Explorer self drive tour, Travelled on 22nd October 2013

Hi Shelley, We have been catching up at home and are now pleased to let you know that our tour was outstanding and met with our expectations in nearly every way. The excursions were all excellent. Oddly enough we found the Hobbiton tour delightful and more fun than we had anticipated. We were upgraded to a Santa Fe AWD diesel vehicle which I found peppy and most economical. It handled like a sports car on the curves and banked roads. We were very pleased with our accommodation at the Bay of Islands. The hosts were very accommodating and the food exceptional.

Read more

The Scenic Hotel was not especially welcoming nor comfortable. They put us in a handicapped room on our return to Auckland. We would have expected better service from a preferred "Fine Tours " vendor. The accommodation in Wellington was exceptional, however getting to the City Life was simply frustrating. The "Google Maps" directions are not totally accurate and take you to the street below the hotel and 6 floors beneath the reception area. After stopping in the "bus zone" I ran up to get further directions which they kindly provided. We had to drive further down the street, make four turns in order to arrive at the front lobby. We would encourage you to have some of your staff actually try to arrive at the City Life via the directions provided. It would be an eye opener I trust. The "turn at Post Office " directive was impossible to follow. We loved the South Island as well. Followed the Queen Charlotte Drive and found it to be wonderful. The Split Apple lodge was also delightful, However, getting to the Split Apple Lodge was also poorly directed. and a left turn in the directions should actually have been a right turn onto Sandy Bay-Kaiteriteri Road and then a left turn into the property. Your directions should be amended to inform your client to proceed toward Kaiteriteri when the direction says to turn left. It is a right turn. It is easy to miss the turn as the "Sandy Bay-Marahau" road continues straight on. Our hosts said that those clients sent from Fine Tours often have a difficult time finding them. Once again, Google maps falls short of accurate instructions. Your staff would be well advised to make a visit and record their own description of directions. Bert and Paulette were so accommodating and helpful in arranging our boat trip to the Able Tasman tracks with the "Sea Shuttle" They were excellent guides and informative in helping us plan our tracking adventure. At this point, I would suggest that you do not rely on Google Maps. Their descriptions are primarily by naming streets which are most often not determinable from the Motorways. . In Punakaikai there was no one at the address provided for the Tree House accommodation. The address provided was for an adventure rental business. The owner of the business property, not a hostess or any relation to the Tree House owner finally appeared with a printed page with instructions of how to turn around and go back to locate our accommodation. The Rimu was more of a Spartan backpacker accommodation than a nicer mid-range hotel or room and the heater noise kept us from sleeping soundly. would suggest that you drop this accommodation. Additionally, there were only two options for dinner in Punakaikai . Knowing this ahead of time would have been nice. This was the only real disappointment in our tour. Queenstown accommodation was excellent and the hostess was very helpful. The location was perfect to walking to the shops and restaurants. Arrowtown was also a delightful experience which we thoroughly enjoyed. The Doubtful Sound day trip was also well worthwhile and though we had also been to Milford Sound previously, both are worth the visit. Dunedin also was fun to experience and the harbor nature tour was most informative and enjoyable even in the cold morning air. We saw Albatross, Hector Dolphins and the yellow-eyed penguins. Well done! At last, we arrived in Christchurch and our return visit with Ann and Harold at Eliza" Manor. The were as welcoming and warm as they were on our first visit in 2007. They have beautifully restored the Manor and their service and food was exceptional. We hated to leave both of them and the Manor. You could not ask for a better place to kick back and relax at the end of 20 days of touring. Shelley, although I have made a few negative comments, overall, you have provided an excellent service and have been most helpful and prompt to respond to our requests and travel requirements. We definitely would seek your assistance again if we are able to return once again to the beautiful land of New Zealand. Kindest Regards Bob and Gail McMullin

Rosemary Ann Melmeth Brian Davis, Southern Lake and Fiords Custom Tour, Travelled on 13th November 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful self drive tour you prepared for us; everything worked out perfectly. We were happy with all the bookings and tours and could not have asked for more. We will have no hesitation in recommending you. Best wishes, Rosemary

Shawn & Stephanie Modar, 12 day Southern Highlights day walk tour, Travelled on 4th November 2013

Our self-drive tour of the South Island was fantastic. My wife and I are pretty active people. The tour provided a perfect mix of activities and time to relax. While we had an itinerary, the trip also allowed ample freedom to make the trip our own. The Milford Sound cruise, Milford Track walk and Ice Explorer were all excellent choices. The guides for the Milford Track and on the Milford Mariner were particularly informative. The only activity that was somewhat disappointing was the train ride from Greymouth to Christchurch. Between the delayed departure, delays on the tracks, bus transfer over the pass and use of the old train cars (sounded as if this were a temporary situation) the journey was a bit of a cumbersome end to the trip. I recognize that much of this is just a matter of current circumstance with the track condition that may improve in the future, but nonetheless it was the only part of the trip that I would not choose to do again. In the end though this was a minor inconvenience at the end of a fantastic trip. I only mention this in the interest of providing you with complete feedback on our thoughts on the trip. I am definitely recommending others to consider a trip to New Zealand and will recommend that they consider New Zealand Fine Touring for a self drive tour. I will also consider New Zealand Fine Touring as our first choice should we return to New Zealand in the future. Thank you for your assistance in booking our tour. Shawn and Stephanie Modar

Allan Cameron, Joyce Barbour & Gail Wood, Custom 14 day Auckland to Auckland Scenic Circuit, Travelled on 28th October 2013

We really enjoyed the trip and thank you very much for your professionalism in organizing it. As you may know we had a bit of a hangup about the car rental (they had us down for the year 2014) but when they did come to get us, they were very apologetic and efficient and they graciously upgraded to a SUV/diesel. That was very nice of them - we appreciate it. They accommodations were great, we truly loved Blue Pacific apartments in Pahia and the Matakana Country Lodge was amazing!!! All of the activities were great - the dune rider on 90 mile beach and surfing the sand dunes - Astounding, loved it!! Driving the Coromandel Peninsula was so beautiful, seeing Little Blue Penguins at Whitiange, Orakei Korako was wonderful, so quiet, so unique, so few people. We loved it but in hindsight we should have gone there on our way to Napier and done stuff in and closer to Rotorua on that day. The Chateau Tongariro was a treat (we have many of these similar style 'Chateau' hotels in Canada built by the railroad companies so it was like being in the Rockies) and the crossing was gorgeous. Gail did the 'airplane' ride while Allan and I did the hike and she thought it was spectacular. I loved the Waitomo Caves - I know it is a bit touristy but it is so unique. I am glad that I did not miss it. So thanks for everything. I would recommend your company to friends anytime.

Iain & Margaret Maciver, The Length & Breadth North to South self drive tour, Travelled on 18th October 2013

The Length & Breadth North to South self drive tour Oct-Nov 2013 We got what we wanted and a lot more! Based on my specifications, NZFT organized a 31 day self-drive excursion of New Zealand promptly and efficiently with a number of good suggestions only to have me make a major last minute change. We brought the trip forward a month. NZFT (Shelley) responded positively & quickly. A number of good additions were made about attractions and the plan was adjusted accordingly. The now famous ‘Uncle’ met us at Auckland taking us directly to our first hotel (even at 6am) handing over a briefcase of the itinerary and material from NZFT. That was the start of our fabulous NZ trip. It was one ‘Wow’ after another. A civilized laid back country with an abundance of treasures to see, do, eat and drink. All thanks to the skills of Shelley and the NZFT team. There were a couple of hitches during the trip but a quick call to Wanaka and it was solved. Michelle was on duty and we thank her. While enroute we had worries about traversing Haast Pass what with all the bad press about killer slips/avalanches. A quick note and David reassured us if we were blocked NZFT would work out alternates for us. Thankfully Haast was open. 31 days in NZ and just under 6,000km.needless to say we slept on the plane to ‘top-side’. When we get the usual question what was the best, we cannot answer. The NZFT recommended places & things we saw were beyond description. 1200 pictures attest to it. And any Lord of the Rings fans will literally be in heaven. We got our monies worth and a ton of memories. Thanks again Shelley and NZFT Iain and Marg Maciver, Cambridge, CAN.

Jeffrey Owen and Sue Murphy, Customised Coast to Coast self drive tour, Travelled on 28th October 2013

Thanks Shelley We were extremely happy with all aspects of our recent trip you arranged for us in New Zealand. All transfers were on time and Graham was a great unofficial tour guide with a wealth of information and very courteous and helpful on every occasion. Our first stop Eliza's, the room was fantastic and Ann was very helpful and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and we had a wonderful stay with Ann and Harold they gave us valuable information for dining out and things to see. The car was deivered to us here without any problems and with the wonderful itnerary we had no problems travelling around the south island.Next stop Akoroa and Beaumont House again a lovely room great hosts and a wonderful time meet people from Scotland here who have become firm friends. Lovely food and 6pm drinks. We enjoyed our harbour cruise with the hector dolphins very much. Next stop Hermitage Hotel great room wonderful view, average food. Our stay at Dunedin with Kyle and Rachael was amazing and a highlight of our trip I must say had my doubts as we were drinving there but once we arrived I fell in love with the place. Kyle was so helpful and took as out on his boat for a wildlife up close and personal and was the highlight of our trip, wonderful Pedro our chef cooked amazing meals.Then to stay with Wendy and Roger at Dunluce again a amazing experience lovely people Wendy has everything set up so comfy and you have your privacy as well as being art of her home.We then travelled to Queenstown and up until this point we could not rave enough about our hosts so acomadating and helpful unfiortunately we did not find this at Browns Boutique. We arrived early not wanting to access our room just to see if we could park there and wander the city until check in time.Donald was very cranky and not at all welcoming.That night when we returned from dinner there was a breakfast tray left on out bed with various things that shoukd of been kept in the fridge but was left on the bed for heavens knows how long. I tried several times to ring reception as we were confused we did not order breakfast. I could not get any answer so i went down to reception there was a note saying they were out for the night.The next morning i rang first thing and Jillian was a bit upset the tray was put in our room by mistake ans the people who really needed it were angry. She tried to lay blame with us for not telling them as I tried to point out I did try and ring and they were not available I could hardly see it was our fault. Any way the room was nice but i think the hosts may be a bit past it or need a holiday themselves.We had a wonderful stay with Meg at Wanaka and also Kaz at Frans Josef so we were very happy with all the arrangement syou made for us Shelley and thanks again. I did write a thank you on you Facebook site. Thanks again we had a wonderful time ox

Laurie Rubel & Michael Stark, Southern Discoverer 15 day South Island tour, Travelled on 10th November 2013

We arrived home in California this afternoon (which is Sunday in US). Trip home was long, but no hitches or hang ups. It's just a long way from there to here! And are we ever glad we visited! It was fabulous to drive around the South Island! We have travelled a lot in Europe and in South America, but do not think we have ever met people as friendly and fun loving as those in NZ! Of course, the scenery is outrageously gorgeous, so just a fantastic bonus to meet wonderful people too! I could never have figured out how to hit the highlights and so much appreciate your great itinerary and on the ground support. It was as easy as pie and you are "sweet as"! Thank you for giving us a great trip that we will always remember! Knock wood, we will get to return! Many thanks! Laurie and Michael

Charles & Mischelle Almuena, Auckland to Christchurch self drive tour, Travelled on 9th November 2013

Hello! Had a great time in New Zealand! Thanks! I would definitely book with you again. Just had some minor issues. First was at europcar in Auckland, when i mentioned that i requested a GPS, they did not have it on record that one should be provided. Good thing the voucher stated that GPS was included. Second was at the Interislander/Train, they were looking for a voucher for the train even though it was stated in the ferry voucher that we have a train reservation. But it was all in the computer so no problem. Third, in Christchurch, the car did not come with GPS, and unfortunately the voucher did not state that GPS was included. But these were all minor. Overall, arrangements for accommodation were excellent! We definitely had a memorable trip and will come back in the future!

Brian & Pauline Jordan, Luxury Northbound New Zealand Experience, Travelled on 9th November 2013

Dear Shelley, Just wanted to get in touch to thank you for helping organise such a wonderful holiday. Everything proceeded like clockwork. There were so many highlights and I know you rely on feedback to keep informed. Because you did such a great job, I thought that I would therefore go to the trouble of providing you with a report card which is, in part, by way of comparisons between the lodgings we visited. Bear in mind, this is not comparing good with bad but comparing very good with very, very good so I have to mark some places down to 4 stars to leave room for my 5 star ratings !!!

Read more

Day 1 Christchurch. The lady who picked us up was a champion. She sang the praises of your organisation and was very helpful. Accommodation: The George. You arranged an upgrade and The George went one better. They upgraded us further to the Park View Suite – used by the Prime Minister when he visits. What a start to our holiday. Room exceptional – 4.5 stars Dinner: Superb degustation menu with so many lovely interesting extras. 4.5 stars- an exceptional start to our holiday. ( We totally underestimated the extent of the devastation in the City – shattering – made good sense of your recommendation to reverse the order, end in Queenstown and spend the extra day there.) Day 2 Kaikoura Accommodation: Hapuku Lodge. OMG ! We booked the upgrade to the Lodge Suite. Outstanding. Huge. Beautifully appointed. Exceptional bed and pillows. Service very friendly and attentive. Had to be 5 star. Dinner: Outstanding. Pauline chose more wisely than me so I ate much of hers. The house specialty, crayfish, which I chose and paid an extra $85 over the all- inclusive price for was the only slight disappointment. That marginal disappointment was offset by an exceptional breakfast spread. Food overall, 4.5 Would return at the drop of a hat. Day 3 Arthurs Pass Accommodation: Wilderness Lodge. After the first two high quality destinations, the facilities were of a significantly lesser standard – 3 to 3.5 – showing its 20 years in room design and dimensions when compared to the previous two. However, that did not detract from our enjoyment of the stay at all. The W.L. was not trying to be anything that it was not. The aspect was spectacular and visiting is and opportunity to spend time in a wonderful region. It was a more homely destination and that was reflected in the friendliness of the reception. Michael, the owners son and host, was an absolute delight. We particularly enjoyed his tour of the sheep station and the nature tour the next morning. Food: Sound and in keeping with the style of accommodation – had my best egg ever for breakfast – food overall 3.5 Overall enjoyment factor – 4 to 4.5 Day 4 Franz Josef Accommodation: Te Waonui Forest Retreat. Rooms very smart. Very tastefully and well-designed. Welcome friendly and good advice given. Location of Lodge not as spectacular as many of the others but impossible to fault the rooms, facilities and service – 4 to 4.5 Food: OMG ! Look, I don’t know if I was just in the right mood, but I did not eat better on the whole journey of gastronomic delights in NZ. I just may have never eaten better in my life. That’s what I felt compelled to tell the delightful Chef who answered my call for a meeting after the meal. Course after course was just lick-the-plate perfect. The Chef was genuinely thrilled to hear about and discuss the food. We also happened to select our favourite pick of the NZ wines that night – a Kidnappers Cliff Syrah or Cabernet Franc ???? The whole dining experience had to be a BIG 5 ! Loved the town and area. Enjoyed the hot pools. One of the highlight stays. Would love to go back. Day 5 Lake Wanaka Accommodation: Whare Kea Lodge. Yet another OMG moment. The day we arrived was a picture-postcard-perfect day without a cloud in the sky. We drove up to Whare Kea and had the Lodge to ourselves. We were given a lovely welcome and then we took in the location ....... what can I say ? .... it was breathtakingly beautiful – absolutely world class. The common area is spectacular. The grounds are fabulous. The rooms are impressive but show some signs of being a little dated compared to some of the other amazing Lodges we stayed at but that is being very picky. I would give the rooms a solid 4 and the common area a 4.5. I would give the location a 5+. Food: Of a very high standard. Beautifully explained and presented. 4.5 Loved the area and township. Only realized that was where you were based after we had moved on – may have looked you up if I had realised that was your town and used the opportunity to tell you how clever you were! Day 6 Queenstown Accommodation: Matakauri Lodge. In a tight contest of some wonderful Lodges – the outright winner ! I believe we were again upgraded and our Lodge was exquisite. Spectacular aspect. Stunning rooms with brilliant designs and features. The welcome and introduction by the Manager was very impressive and the service remained of a high standard. The impression was that your wish was their command. An absolute 5 – world class. Food: Very good. Beautifully explained and presented. 4.5 Would love to have had more time there. Day 7 Sofitel. A great hotel, great location and they made a special effort with service and help. A couple of the concierge’s were particularly helpful. Trouble was, they were following after the above – impossible acts to follow ! Best Lodge: Matakauri just ahead of Hapuku Best Location: Whare Kea Best Food: Very difficult but the winner is ........Te Waonui, closely followed by Hapuka in second and with The George, Whare Kea and Matakauri all a very close equal third. The Grand Overall Oscar: goes to ................ too hard.... I think we will have to come back ........ do you have similar good options on the North Island? Thanks again for your contribution to a memorable holiday.

Tommy & Susan Cartwright and Mike & Stacy Collins, North and South Spectacular Self drive tour, Travelled on 5th October 2013

Shelly, Susan, Mike, Stacy and I want to thank you and your company so much for our recent trip to New Zealand. Before contacting you, I tried going to a travel agent to get ideas on what to see, but really got flustrated. They want to use bus tours and/or cruises to get around the islands which really put a lot of restrictions on what to see in the amount of time we had to spend. We believe that we saw and experienced a very large part of both islands in two weeks. I believe that planning our trip directly with you and New Zealand Self-Drive Tours has been the best experience I have every had in planning a trip of this size. Being able to see some of the standard tours on your website gave us all of the information we needed to narrow down and customize our tour to meet our needs. Once this was done, you took over and made all of the arrangements and connections needed to make it happen. This could not have been a better experience. All of the vouchers, documentation, GPS and phone were so helpful as we made the tour. Everything went off like clockwork, with the exceptions of the slide on Hwy 6 which closed the road for days. But you notified us of the problem and then took over and made alternate accomodations on a different route that allowed us to finish our tour. As I said the experience was wonderful, you were awesome and so is your country. We were told that New Zealand has about 35 million sheep and Susan said she thinks saw all of them. The sites were breath taking and we would and will recommend you and your company to our family and friends. Thanks again for a wonderful experience,

Mark & Lorna Puckett, Auckland to the Southern Alps self drive Tour, Travelled on 10th September 2013

What a fantastic trip we had. Jessica worked with us (via email as we are in UK) to get the best possible options to make this a trip of a lifetime and it certainly was. All the accommodation was well above average, the trips were well organised and everyone so helpful. When the Haast pass was closed the day that we were due to travel it, alternative accommodation & suggestions of what to do were quickly sorted out. Thank you so much.

David & Dianne Gresham, Your Customised Discover New Zealand Tour , Travelled on 7th October 2013

Firstly, we must thank Shelley for the perfect itinerary she provided to us which allowed us to see the best of this beautiful country in 3 weeks. From our greeting by "Uncle" at Auckland airport through until our departure from Christchurch, everything was perfectly organised. The accommodation was excellent at every destination & the hospitality & friendliness shown by everyone throughout our trip was fantastic. There are way too many highlights to mention them all but a few of note include the Mitai Maori Village, Wai-O-Tapu Thermal wonderland & Skyline all at Rotorua, the InterIslander ferry trip on a cloudless day from Wellington to Picton followed by an afternoon in the vineyards at Blenheim, sitting with the seals eating fish & chips (or is that fesh & cheps!!!) in Kaikoura & the jaw dropping beauty of Lake Tekapo, Lake Pukaki & Wanaka. Then of course comes Queenstown which is definately one of the nicest places we've been in the world. Whether riding in the Shotover Jet, sitting at the Marina drinking pints or taking a Gondola ride up to the Skyline Restaurant, this place is incredible. This beauty, coupled with the sheer in your face ruggedness of Mt Cook, Milford Sound, Fox & Franz Josef Glaciers clearly demonstrated to us why New Zealand is mentioned by many as one of the most scenic & beautiful countries in the world. We'd previously heard that there's a postcard around every corner & this was certainly correct. Having a tailored itinerary prepared for us by Shelley allowed us to enjoy every moment at our pace where the occassional long drive went by un-noticed due to the amount of time taken to stop & take photographs. I guess the only downside of the trip if you can call it that was the cancellation of a couple of helicopter flights due to the weather which is fully understandable due to safety reasons but again Shelley was able to offer alternate activities at short notice & relevant refunds that we received as soon as we arrived home. One alternate activity was a dinner & farm show at Queenstown on the TSS Earnslaw which for us ended up as one of the highlights & a great way to unwind. To finish it all of, we took the Trans Alpine from Greymouth across to Christchurch where we experienced 4 seasons during the 4 hr trip with rain at the start followed by hail, then snow at Arthur's Pass followed by brilliant sunshine when we arrived in Christchurch. We've already started recommending New Zealand Fine Touring to many of our friends & will use again ourselves when we return to this great country again in the future.

Kim & Sandra Carless, Customised Auckland to Christchurch 19 Day Highlights, Travelled on 15th August 2013

Hi Shelley, please forgive the delayed response. One would think we had been gone 3 months, not 3 weeks given the "stuff" waiting for us. Our trip was fabulous!! Many thanks to you for your efforts and considerations. You are a pleasure to work with. The best part of our tour was finding a truly awesome scene to view as we rounded each corner on our drive. We could have been heard to say "oh, my" and "wow" very often. Our accommodations were all very clean and provided all amenities listed, the staff most pleasant and helpful. The Camelot Motor Inn is seeming a bit tired. All others wonderful. The GPS was super and a nice touch that it was programmed with the addresses of each hotel. A suggestion would be to include locations for booked events, but not a big issue. However, the directions to City Life Wellington (a fabulous accommodation!) bring you to the front door with absolutely no parking space in a very congested city, most likely at peak driving time. We needed to drive until we could find a place to park and call the hotel for directions to the entry, a GPS direction to the back alley with parking and entrance. All ended well, just a bit frustrating. We enjoyed all of the booked excursions and thank you for those suggestions. Special kudos to the individuals that greeted us in Auckland and at the train station in Christ Church. Both were extremely helpful, just delightful. All in all, a wonderful experience..........one of the best trips of our life!! Sandra Carless

Carritt & Bunnett Party, Custom South Island Tour, Travelled on 2nd September 2013

Just wanted to say a big thank you for the fantastic holiday that we have just completed. The itinerary was perfect, accommodation was good, car was great, the weather was beautiful, except for one or two days, but that is to be expected. South Island is amazing. We have all toured NZ in the past, but never tire of its beauty. John & I did a helicopter flight over the Franz Joseph and Fox Glaciers with a landing and that was just spectacular. We had a look at the devastation of Christchurch, which moved us deeply, but having said that, the spirit of the people remains high. We were in awe of the set up of Restart Quake City. Thanks also for the rebate of the Milford Sound Nature cruise, that was very honourable of your company.

Jean & Steve Russell, Auckland to Christchurch Classic self drive tour , Travelled on 10th September 2013

We would like to send you a big thank you for an awesome holiday we recently spent in NZ.The holiday was so well organized we had no problems what so ever.We have no complaints about the accommodation with each hotel having its own character.There were no problems booking in and the people were pleasant and helpful.The vouchers were a great idea.On some days the weather could have been a on our side but that did not stop us from making the most of the time we had.Uncle was such a pleasant person and it was a joy to be met by him at the airport upon our arrival.It was a prefect day weather wise when we caught the Interislander it would have to be one of many highlights.We have to now sort though over 200 photos and organise the album.Once again thank you and hope to plan another holiday in the next few years.

Barbara & Vincent McGrath, North Island Overlander circuit extended, Travelled on 2nd September 2013

I would just like to thank you for organizing our tour, everything was wonderful, from the time we were met at Auckland airport to the time we left 10 days later all activities, arrival times and pick ups were spot on. All drivers were friendly and easy to communicate with, also very punctual which was a great relief to us when we turned up at an unknown place knowing that there was someone to meet us. We drove from Auckland to Wellington, we found the roads excellent and the directions given were easy to follow and were all the navigational tools we needed. All accommodation was first class. We must also make comment on how clean New Zealand was, very little litter noticed anywhere city or country. Once again thanks for your help and advice. A very enjoyable holiday. We will definitely be back. Regards Vince & Barb.

Oscar Caro Carmona, Coast to Coast self drive tour, Travelled on 27th August 2013

Unforgetable experience. The trip has been marvellous and the organization, perfect. My congratulations and thanks for what has been an amazing holidays

Jane & Alec Slaymaker, Discover New Zealand Tour, Travelled on 3rd July 2013

My 'Trip of a Lifetime' to New Zealand was exactly as I'd dreamt and hoped for. It was completely awesome, The very friendly and helpful service provided by New Zealand Self Drive was a big factor and I have no hesitation in recommending them Although I'd booked flights plus first & last nights' accommodation with a local UK travel agent, I used New Zealand Self Drive for the rest of the holiday. From my initial draft inquiry, Shelley put together a great itinerary with rental car, accommodation and trips, completing fitting in with the stop-overs with relatives which I needed to include.. She was very prompt to answer any questions, open to changes of plan, offered good suggestions and at all times was responsive to what I wanted until the tour was perfect The website was easy to use and made finalising and paying easy, with good communications The tour pack provided when we were met by the rep at the airport was excellent I was very pleased with the standard of the accommodation In fact accommodation, trips and all information provided was completely accurate When our arrangements had to alter due to ferry cancellations, Jessica calmly rearranged our accommodation, rentals and trip which was a great relief to me and meant we could continue to relax knowing all was still ok It was great to meet both Shelley and Jessica when we were stayed at Wanaka and to thank them personally for their fantastic service

James Vickery & Charlotte Braund, New Zealand Northbound Highlights Tour, Travelled on 3rd August 2013

Well, where do we start?? We've just returned from having THE most AMAZING time in New Zealand. From our first enquiry with you, right up to handing over the final hotel voucher for our last night in Christchurch, everything was perfect. The itinerary you carefully organised for us took us through the most wonderful scenery to some of the most stunning locations in the world. Around every corner there seemed to be yet another photo opportunity! All the motels and hotels we stayed in as part of our self-drive tour were of a very high standard - comfortable, clean and vary spacious. We were particularly impressed with the welcome we received by our hosts at the Camelot Motor Lodge in Christchurch - where the owners went out of their way to ensure we had the best experience possible. The cars provided by Europcar were clean, comfortable and of a very high spec. We kept getting free upgrades along the way - our last car even had a built in SAT-Nav and DVD player! Your voucher system worked very well. Having all the hotel, hire car and activity bookings in one place meant we weren't constantly having to fish through pages and pages of paperwork to find our individual bookings. Your recommendation of taking a nature cruise at Milford Sound and taking a journey on the TranzAlpine Express Train between Greymouth and Christchurch was superb and proved to be two of the most enjoyable days of our tour. While we were on the Milford Sound trip we saw dolphins and seals and whilst on the train between Greymouth and Christchurch we saw some of the greatest sights - mountains, lakes and rivers that were inaccessible by car. The pack we received on our arrival was crammed full of useful information that we used to plan further excursions while we were on our tour and the photo-atlas is a lovely keepsake of the country that will always hold very special memories for us both. The ONLY downside? The fact we didn't have longer to explore one of the most beautiful countries on the planet! Thank you once again for your hard work in putting together the PERFECT tour! We will certainly be recommending you to friends and family who will no doubt be hoping to travel to NZ after seeing all our pictures!

Lip, Woo and Hiew Party, North Island Family Tour, Travelled on 25th July 2013

Enter your story here...we had a really amazing and memorable 10 days tour of the north island - thankyou very much to your company for such splendid organisation. The online booking was really helpful and accommodative (with our specifications). We were equally impressed with the very well organised wellcome-pack, printed suggested touring routes etc. All booked things/events were met with no mistakes nor worries. Accommodations were excellent quality and sites which we thought made a difference to the trip. Perhaps breakfast was the only slight disappointment in the whole package as the choices were very limited especially in Waterfront suites, hence nobody was looking forward to breakfast time. If we were to do it again, we would definitely prefer good breakfast included, and certainly would not mind the slight increase of fees. we were glad we didnt book too many tours online before hand, as some activities were hindered by weather, plus it was cheaper to purchase family ticket at site than individual ticket online. One additional activity not mentioned / offered online was the visit to Hobbiton movie set. We enjoyed that very much. Thanks very much for an excellent organisation and made our tours very enjoyable and stress free. We have already recommended your website to family and friends.

Rahul, Kerrin & Sachi Ramachandran, 9 day Southern Spectacular self drive tour, Travelled on 27th July 2013

We really enjoyed our vacation in New Zealand. It was the best vacation ever. Everything went smoothly, there was never a hiccup in the entire itinerary and even the weather was perfect. We liked all the hotels we stayed in and the rental car was fine. The itinerary was planned with perfect balance and we never spent too much time in the car. The only suggestion I would give is to change the GPS unit. While the audio commentary was great, the GPS itself was not very useful as a navigation tool as it was always slow. We ended up buying a map from a gas station. thanks again. we are thinking of visiting again in a few years.

Sarah Burke & Jessica Hoffman, Auckland to Christchurch 17 Day Highlights tour, Travelled on 15th July 2013

 Back to reality today (first day back at work) and it is tough! New Zealand is such a beautiful place and now I know why so many people choose to go back again and again for their holidays. I have ‘liked’ your page on Facebook and I would be more than happy to write a review/feedback and post it on the page (which I will do tonight to let others know how great you are! And I think Sarah would also like to write a separate review). Just to let you personally know, Sarah and I absolutely loved our trip. We were happy with all the accommodation that you had suggested, and the tours were all very worthwhile. It was very reassuring to know that all the accommodation, car hire and tours had been booked so that all we had to worry about was jumping in the car and leisurely driving to our destination. Our itinerary was planned very well and we were very confident that everything had been thought of (like airport transfers, manageable driving days, centrally located accommodation, car park etc. etc.). We only had a couple of big days of driving, but that was because we were trying to jam pack so much in, in such a small amount of time! I liked the personal touch of receiving the phone call from you, as sometimes it is much easier to plan things over the phone, rather than email. It was also great that you were able to put our mind at ease so quickly with the little drama with Europcar. A very smooth process, that I feel could have turned ugly if you weren’t there to very quickly sort it out for us. Overall we were very happy with the whole planning and travelling experience! I would be more than happy to (and will) recommend your company to anyone considering a driving holiday in New Zealand. Regards, Jess and Sarah

Cheryl Chung (Chui Yun Chung) Group, Auckland to Auckland Family Classic Self Drive Tour, Travelled on 30th June 2013

A big THANK YOU to Shelley our tour advisor who has done a fantabulous job in arranging our 2-week NZ tour. My dad (who had studied in Wellington 45 years ago) had a great time during this trip and he has given his commendation to the tour agent for making this trip a memorable one. He just couldn't tell enough how much he had enjoyed this trip and to him every bits of the trip has gone beyond his expectations. Mum is fussy about accommodations (i.e. cleanliness and comfort) but this time she couldn't find faults in the choices of accommodations throughout the 15 day trip. Being an Aussie I feel that the lodging condition in NZ is far better than we have here in Oz (to an extent where I think they shouldn't be in business anymore! :P) Thanks Shelley for accommodating our stringent criteria on lodging and credits to you for fulfilling our request. Well done!!! The only shame was we couldn't make it to the whale watch at Kaikoura due to severe weather condition. We got a swift response from Shelley when I sent her the cancellation confirmation from the cruise company and refund was arranged at the end of the trip (which will take up to 7 working days for the refund). All in all, we really enjoyed the trip VERY MUCH, and I could say this is one of the best family trip that I ever had! Will definitely look for Shelley again to arrange my next trip to NZ :))

Diane Goodman, Treasures of the North, Travelled on 5th July 2013

Hi Shelley Sorry I have been really busy at work and have not been able to reply until now. Funny, I actually emailed you when I returned with some detailed feedback re the trip. Now I can't find any sign of it in my sent folder so it mustn't have gone somehow. Your arrangement of my tour was excellent and I appreciated your timely help when the car hire company didn't show up on time. The B and B accommodation was also excellent and I appreciated the diversity and quality. The B and B at Russell was wonderful and had a great history and an excellent host who cooked me dinner after I rang him lost on route as it became dark! He also took me for a bayside walk in moonlight to show me where to go the next day. I loved the bay of islands and probably should have stayed there for the whole time and rested Kaitaia was a very raw kind of place. I enjoyed the drive up there over the mountains particularly. but the accommodation at Kataia was hard to find and the town seemed unfriendly and unloved by comparison - no signposting and the GPS couldn't isolate it - a gravel drive down the far end of a culdesac and another block in the street had the same number on the letterbox but without the 'b'. But the Cape Reinga trip the next day made the trip and stay up there worthwhile - lots of fun and interesting history delivered by a really knowledgable local - shared the mini bus with a family of Indians who had a Bollywood party all day! The B and B at Kataia was an oasis really! Quiet, clean, comfortable and a fantastic host who was helpful and informative and friendly and cooked lovely breakfasts. It must be the only place like that to stay up there from what I saw... The last B and B at Matakarna was spectacular and I would have loved to stay another night or had time to enjoy more of it. It was quite remote but fascinating to discover as i allowed time before dark to find it. perched high on a hilltop with a spectacular house and rooms in a beautiful landscape. Once again the hosts were so lovely - met me for wine and canapes on sunset and we shared a couple of really interesting hours of converstaion. I found the trip down the west coast unexciting after the Kauri forest and the the trip to the ferry which was fabulous country - after that I would go direct to Matakarna via the inland route if I did it again The GPS took me off the main route several times and I had no idea at the time that it was leading me up back routes and then it did some weird things like try and hook up with the main route again by backtracking across an even lesser used road. Near Russell, it kept insisting I go up a gravel road and when I stubbornly resisted, it persisted all the way to Russell telling me to do a u turn. In honesty the notes were of little help - very confusing as there was no real frame of reference when lost or taking a quick diversion to see another town off the main route. A list of main towns on route or embedded in the notes would be helpful. Or a series of local maps covering the key districts you mentioned in the itinerary. This would have been really helpful. If I had a navigator and traveling companion this wouldn't have been a problem but as it was right on dark that I struggled both times, it was a bit stressful when I found myself out in the middle of nowhere. Mind you I am not a great navigator!!!. The atlas helped but only with big roads. I ended up ringing ahead to the b and bs and the hosts talked me through it thankfully But this was not a big problem - I finally learnt to get to the destination well before dark and also learnt to add one and a half hours at least to your travel times - the northern roads are so windy and slow to negotiate which is fine when you know this - otherwise too many detours can mean you arrive at the destination 2 hours after dark. Shelley, this is just feedback that may help you with similar itineraries up that way, but really I had the best time! Possibly too much driving - but Other than the lower west coast, I wouldn't have missed any of it. Thank you so much. I have mentioned you to several people already over here who sounded quite interested. I would certainly contact you again when I return. Many thanks Diane

Wayne & Margaret Coulton, Auckland to Dunedin Custom self drive tour, Travelled on 4th November 2012

We would just like to send our thanks to our consultant Nicky and everyone at NZ Self Drive (NZ Fine Tours). If it is possible to have all travel arrangements handled to perfection, then we just experienced it. From the very first meet and greet at Auckland airport, to the airport transfer in Christchurch when we left, not one single arrangement was out of place. Our B&B accommodation was excellent throughout and we were so happy we went with the choice of B&B, rather than just hotels. In fact, if there was one night that was a little sub par, it was the Museum Hotel in Wellington, which did not really live up to its supposed reputation. Not that it was too bad, but compared to the B&B places we stayed in, it just lacked the warmth and charm we experienced everywhere else. Too bad your B&B choice in Wellington was full when we booked with you, or every night would no doubt have been perfect. Special mention must be made of "The Springs" in Rotorua. Despite being the most modern of the B&B's we stayed it, it was just so perfect, as were our wonderful hosts. One could not miss also mentioning Eliza's Manor in Christchurch. The charm and character of Eliza's must be experienced by everyone and we were so glad that was your recommended B&B in CHC. Ann & Harold at Eliza's are the best innkeepers we have ever met in years of travel. We only had one disappointment on the whole trip and that was when our prepaid Whale Watching trip in Kaikoura was cancelled by sea fog all day. To your credit, we received a refund from you in under 2 weeks of notifying you upon our return home. Once again thanks for everything. We will be recommending your company to our friends or anyone who will listen. We want to do more exploring in NZ and will only use your company. BTW, we really enjoyed having the Kruse GPS as our personal travel guide.

John & Lynette Hetherington, Custom - Coast to Coast self drive tour , Travelled on 1st November 2012

Enter your story here... I could not fault the organisation of our tour or the level of service. The accommodation was excellent and the instructions comprehensive. A wonderful experience.

Renu Badiani Party, Queenstown to Wellington Tour, Travelled on 23rd October 2012

We (all 8 of us) had a great time travelling up the West Coast of the South Island - everything went very smoothly from arriving in Queenstown to catching the ferry in Picton. We thought the accommodation was exactly what we were after and Angela's organisation of the whole tour was fantastic - thanks so much! Renu and the whole family

Dr Saumitra Saha & Family, A Taste of the South self drive tour , Travelled on 23rd October 2012

Dear Nicky We had a fabulous time in New Zealand. Everything worked fine for us and we liked all the accomodations. It's a pity that we did not have more time to explore this beautiful country. Would like to go on a longer holiday in future. Saumitra Saha and family

Albert, Asli Paterson & Doga Acikgun, Auckland to Queenstown Tranz Alpine 11 day highlights, Travelled on 20th October 2012

Had a fantastic holiday!!! We took the Auckland to Queenstown Tranz Alpine tour and it was amazing. Everything was booked and organized perfectly. Shelly, our tour consultant, was always helpful and prompt when we had a few cancellations due to weather. We will definitely use New Zealand Self Drive tours again. One tiny feedback would be change your hotel in Wellington. It had a great location but was really run down and dirty.

Jann SaibooLee & Party , Custom tour- Auckland to Christchurch , Travelled on 30th September 2012

Hi Nicky, We are all back in our homes safe & sound, albeit with a heavy heart. Aotearoa was truly magnificient! Thank you very much for all your help. All the properties we stayed in (save one) were fabulous. Nelson was wonderful. We got to Lake Rotoiti and felt as if we've been thrown into a postcard from paradise. My husband & I and our girls are still in love (and will always be) with The Factory. The host & hostess were such a wonderful couple that we did not really want to leave, and the crayfish breakfast - To. Die. For. Akaroa was truly a spectacular sight we have ever experienced. All those winding roads up & down the mountain and into tiny town with so much character. We loved Oamaru too. The Victorian architecture was a splendour to behold! The location of the property was perfect. The hostess made us one of the most scrumptious breakfast ever! I don't even want to start on Larnach Castle!! Eliza's Manor on Bealey is the kind of place that we will definitely go back too!! Gosh, what can I say. You made the two weeks in NZ perfect! Thank you for all the wonderful recommendations, we can't thank you enough. All the best from all of us,

Brian & Julie Hogg, Customised New Zealand Tour, Travelled on 25th September 2012

This was our first visit to New Zealand which we thoroughly enjoyed.From being picked up at Auckland airport to being dropped off at the port of Wellington everything ran like clockwork.The accommodation was excellent especially in Napier the best B and B we have experienced. The two organised tours were brilliant. We were particularly impressed by the welcome we were given by everyone . What more can i say - top class!

Carl Asker & Gillian Biggs, Custom New Zealand North Island Tour, Travelled on 19th September 2012

Thanks for organising we had a great time in all. Would highly recommend to others.

Choo Kwang Ng & Wai Yee Loo, Custom New Zealand Tour, Travelled on 20th August 2012

After running through more than 10 self drive tour operator in New Zealand. I have chosen New Zealand Fine Touring base on their understanding of what I need and met my request without me further cracking my head to figure out what I should do. They clearly draw out the option and easily I just run through it and pick what I want. And their consultant especially Angela is so helpful and make my itinerary so flexible and without hassle. There are simple nothing that I could complaint about at all. I will definite recommend which I already highly recommended to few of my friends who has resided in Australia about this superb self drive tour company. Once again from the bottom of my heart, I wanted to thank New Zealand Fine Touring for making my trip to New Zealand a memorable one. Thank you and love you all.

Daune & James Scott, Custom North Island Overlander tour, Travelled on 16th July 2012

Thank you for organising our self drive tour of the north island recently. Everything worked really well from start to finish. Your choice of accommodation, recommendations for sight-seeing, the train trip, the meet & greet... we couldn't have asked for more. Even the weather was kind. There were places that we would liked to have spent more time (as I believe you were gently predicting) but hopefully that can happen sometime in the future. Thank you. We have been taking every opportunity to recommend your company to our friends. Kind regards, Daune & James

Thierry Dupraz & Vanessa Cerutti, Custom New Zealand Tour, Travelled on 5th July 2012

WOW: thanks to Angela. the organization was superb The choice of accommodation was of high quality (Mc Hardy Lodge Eliza-s Manor and Waiteti are among my favorite) everything went smoothly, the suggested excursions were awesome. i loved the Dart rive wilderness adventure. the documentation was very detailed too sure i will get back to you for my next adventure thanks again!

Craig Klugman and Joseph Reses, Custom New Zealand Tour, Travelled on 1st July 2012

Thank you so much for arranging a recent drive tour to NZ. We were so impressed with how smoothly everything went from the transfers and pick-ups, to the detailed maps, to the friendliness of everyone with whom we worked. The properties were great choices, always clean and well appointed. And the ease of our custom drive-trpi was fabulous. We would (and are) recommend your company to anyone visiting New Zealand. Thank you so much.

The Ashraf Family , 9 day Southern Spectacular self drive tour, Travelled on 7th June 2012

Dear Nicky. I know I speak for my whole family, when I say that we had an absolutely wonderful holiday in South Island, New Zealand. We want to thank you for a very well planned holiday. It was exactly what we had imagined: a well planned itinerary, comfortable car with pre-programmed GPS, accommodation in lovely motels & cottages, and out of the world activities. Other than the fact that you have a beautiful country, what struck us most was that, the people are the friendliest we have ever come across. People like Penny & Brian (Camelot Motor Lodge, Christchurch) & Lyndal (Canterburry Limousine Tours) are shinning examples of the best of NZ. We all fell in love with New Zealand. Our memories of the breath- taking landscapes will remain with us forever, as will all of the activities we indulged in – Shotover Jet ride, helicopter flight over the glaciers, Taswan Glacier Argo ride, snowballing on the top of Mount Cook, whale watching etc. Thanks to all those in your organisation who took part in planning our trip. Hopefully we will be able, at some future date, to ask you to plan another vacation for us. I would definitely recommend your company to other friends and family. Dr Jamal Ashraf India

The Hickson Family , Coast to Coast Family Adventure, Travelled on 12th May 2012

Hi, I would like to thank you for especially Nicky for organising a fantastic tour to New Zealand for my family. We had a terrific time over there. The accommodation arrangements were good, all the places that we stayed at were friendly and very helpful. Everything went great with the activities that were planned. We had six people in my family and Nicky did a great job organising everything. I would definitely recommend your company to other friends and family.

Doug Emek, Auckland to Queenstown self drive tour with amendments , Travelled on 10th May 2012

Well, we are back home in Canada now after a wonderful trip to New Zealand (as well as a few days in Sydney). Thanks for all your arrangements for our self-driving tour. Everything went very well and all of the accommodations were excellent, especially all of the B & B’s. Everyone was incredibly friendly and we were made to feel very welcome wherever we went. I’m glad we decided to visit Christchurch as well. Seeing all of the earthquake damage was heartbreaking but the people seem determined to carry on and re-build. We visited the Antarctic Center there as well as the botanical gardens (stunning!). The van arrangements with Europcar were perfect, and other than switching on the windshield wipers when signaling a turn a few times, driving on the left was much easier than I thought. Even though we drove over 2400 km over 10 days, we decided we have to come back to see the west coast of the south island and more of the north island. New Zealand is a beautiful country and we can’t wait to return. Thanks again for all of your help in planning the itinerary. It was perfect!

Judith & Graham Beastall, Northbound Christchurch to Auckland 16 day self drive tour (Custom) , Travelled on 14th October 2011

Our heartfelt thanks go to all the staff at New Zealand self drive tours. This was our holiday of a life time which went like clockwork. We were met in Christchurch and taken to our accomodation. From here on everything was so well organised that we couldn't put a foot wrong! The scenery is magnificent, the weather was kind and all the trips and accomodation excellent. I would like to mention especially the visit to Milford Sound and the Maoiri evening. All travel directions were excellent and we had no trouble following directions to our various resting places. This was our ruby wedding treat but sadly we have no photographic record of it to share with you. On our last day in New Zealand we took the ferry to Waiheke Island. After taking a bus trip round the island we went for lunch at Cable Bay winery and then set out to walk past Mudbrick then along the church bay path back to the ferry. Somewhere along the beginning of the path I dropped the camera. Despite spending 3 hours searching we never found it. We are contacting Waiheke in the hope that some one has found it. The Camera is not important only the memory card. Otherwise this was the best holiday ever. Graham and Judith Beastall Thank you all for everything.

Dolores & Ed Wickes, Wellington to Auckland 5 day short tour, Travelled on 10th October 2011

I just wanted you to know that we were delighted with the 5 day Self Drive Tour you organised for my husband and I. Everything was superb from the routes you recommended to the excellent accommodation in each location, all of which were very unique and with wonderful views. Your attention to detail was wonderful from the hotel pick-up in Wellington to enabling us to drop off the car at our hotel in Auckland. Your high level of service and friendly emails were much appreciated and we will have no hesitation in recommending your company to any friends who travel to New Zealand in the future. Many thanks for everything you did for us,

Stephen Joyce & Kristy Beaumont, Custom Coast to Coast self drive tour, Travelled on 3rd October 2011

Just wanted to let you know what a fantastic trip we had. I know we made it difficult for you by deciding to have our honeymoon the same time as the Rugby World Cup, however the tour you offered us was just wonderfull. Except for a small hicup with the hire car in Christchurch, which was understandably related to the earth quake earlier this year, everything was so well planned - from the directions you provided in the information booklet, to the ease of check in at each of our tours and hotels. We are already planning to take our kids over there next year and do even further South on the South Island, so you will be hearing from us. Thanks again for a wonderfull adventure and helping to create a memorable honeymoon.

Jennifer & Mark Pfitzner, Southbound Explorer (Custom), Travelled on 1st September 2011

Thank you for an excellently planned itinerary. only one small hiccup with accommodation one night which was speedily resolved. not having been to nz we were happy to have our travelling planned and we were pleased with all the places we stayed. it was a great 3 weeks and we will be back to do more! i forgot to mention the tours and train trips which had been arranged and the very detailed documents, thus enabling us to travel without getting lost  and arriving refreshed and not hassled- tho' my navigator was so rapt in the scenery he sometimes forgot his role!

Chen Family, A Taste of the South self drive tour, Travelled on 1st September 2011

We are having a great time in New Zealand. The scenery is so beautiful & incredible. NZ Self Drive Tours had provided a fantastic arrangement. Thank you. Please note that Edgewater Motel & Sherwood Manor Motel were kind of disappointed comparing to the rest of the accommodations.

Vivegananthan, Parasathy,Book Aik & Bee Kuan, A Taste of the South self drive tour , Travelled on 25th August 2011

Thank you for the perfect arrangement. We indeed enjoyed our holiday in New Zealand.

Janet Atkinson and Margaret Mersh, Highlights of the North Island self drive tour, Travelled on 5th August 2011

What a wonderful holiday and I would certainly use this company again. We wanted for nothing and all our accomodation was superb. We were upgraded in the Bay of Islands to a wonderful suite. We hired a car and organised a Kruse/sav nav which was wonderful so did not miss any information. We had originally booked a coach trip but very glad we had the self drive tour now instead. Thank you very much for all the fine detail organised for us. Hope to see you again one day.

Roberto Diaz Jr, Auckland to Christchurch 14 Day Highlights Updated, Travelled on 5th July 2011

Angela and the folks at NZ Self Drive Tours made this a trip of a lifetime!!! Thanks again for all your help and the memorable times!!!

Cassandra Best, Digby & Jack Shadbolt, Southern Explorer Christchurch to Queenstown , Travelled on 10th July 2011

Just wanted to drop you a line and THANK YOU for everything you did in making our NZ trip the most wonderful, amazing holiday we have ever taken. I can't believe that it only took a few emails back and forth, and our entire holiday was taken care of - including catering for our 2 year old son. All our accomodation was great - and we met some lovely lovely people running them. It was just great to be met at the airport and handed a package with everything we needed to know contained within. It simply was the easiest and most trouble free holiday and we would not hesitate to recommend you and your company to anyone. We are already planning our return to your beautiful, stunning country.

Patwardhan Family, Millford Sound Highlights (custom), Travelled on 9th June 2011

Thank you for a thoughtful itinerary which did factor in the requirements of two kids very well. We could not find reason to deviate from the intial suggestion made and keeping it simple did work for us. All requirements were well arranged, at times it seemed also the weather! The quick response we received followed by suggestions through the disruptions caused by the earthquake did validate our decision to go through NZ Self drive tours. In summary, just the right amount of support all the way through. Just one suggestion - The map provided by the embassy remained our best companion for the drive period as it gave all information at one glance without having to flip pages. The Atlas gave all the further details we required about the place. I guess its available on their  website and may be worth to include in the pack.

John & Lorraine Theel, Custom North Island self drive tour Option 2, Travelled on 11th April 2011

We're just letting you know that we had a great time in New Zealand. We really appreciated the smooth way everything worked - the clear instructions, great map book, great accommodation, friendly and helpful people etc, etc. We will have no hesitation in recommending your company to anyone else interested in going to New Zealand. Thankyou for all your input and ability to work around our requests. We particularly enjoyed Gisborne! Could move there tomorrow (if we had jobs and it wasn't so far from the family!)

Warren Brell, 12 day North Island self drive tour, September 2010

I am writing to tell you that I had a great time.  It was a beautiful part of the country and I enjoyed every minute. Well, maybe not every minute, Rotorua was a little challenging for me as the smell was breathtaking, literally! It took my breath away, I couldn’t breath, well maybe not so bad but it was not a pleasant experience.  I think if it weren’t raining all of my stay it probably would have been much better as I could have done a bunch of other things.  The people were friendly, the town was beautiful, and the Guinness Pubs were great. Next time, I’ll stay longer in some of the selected towns to spend more time to enjoy the places and its people. So once again thank you for a well organized tour and allowing me to meet so many great people and see so many lovely places (just skip R).

Matthew and Shelley Cahill, Coast to Coast self drive tour, Travelled on 27th October 2010

Just wanted to email you to say how much we enjoyed our holiday in NZ. We had the best time and just LOVED your country! All accomodation was superb. The only not so great one was the Heritage in Queenstown. Actually when we went back to Heritage in Christchurch, I realised how much nicer it was then the Queenstown hotel and how much Queenstown need to update/refurnish. Maybe we just had a bad room. But anyway, all was fab. The Sofitel was stunning (but of course more expensive) but it made my stay in Queenstown even more enjoyable.

Sophie and Pik Kwang Lei, 9 day North Island self drive tour, October 2010

We are now just back home from our "Impressive trip in New Zealand". Me and my husband were having a wonderful and happy holiday, i would like to thank you for all the assistance in arranging the accommodation and transportation to make my trip a relaxing and enjoyable one. Everyone we met were nice and helpful. will definitely recommend your company to my friends who want self drive to travel in NZ, after they saw all our beautiful photos. Thank you again and I will need your service again in a couple of years later. 

Warren Davis and Elizabeth Belden, North to South custom 15 day tour, Travelled on 5th November 2010

David, thank you for the extraordinary self-driving tour of New Zealand. We have had many trips to foreign countries and your itinerary was by far the best organized. We were so fortunate to have your help, expertise and recommendations. You helped us maximize our time and enjoyment of New Zealand while minimizing the usual hassles. It is quite obvious that your itinerary was based on a wealth of knowledge and love of your country. We could not have asked for more. It was spectacular in all regards. The over-night trip on Doubtful Sound was extraordinary. The pre-programmed GPS made life so much easier. And, thank you for the dollar savings as well. There is absolutely no way we could have done the same itinerary on our own for remotely close to the same costs. Most appreciated. Thanks, again.

Michael and Ann Pogrel, 7 day North Island self drive tour, September 2010

Now that my wife and I are back in California, I would like to thank you most sincerely for the wonderful vacation we have just had organized by New Zealand Self Drive Tours.  I can honestly say that everything went perfectly (including the weather).  We were met at the airport by a nice gentleman carrying a large sign with our name on it, were driven to our bed and breakfast, and our car arrived promptly at 8:30 the next morning, and we were on our way.  The tour that you organized for us was perfect, and we loved every bed and breakfast and hotel that you put us up in, and the timings along the route were fairly accurate and gave us time to do some exploration on our own.  We will certainly have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending you to others.  Thank you very much indeed for everything you've done. 

Robert and Diane Rawlings, 21 day self drive tour, Discover New Zealand, April 2010

Hi, Just wanted to thank you for organizing a wonderful holiday for us, everything went well and your package on arrival with the wonderful atlas that you had even bothered to high lite our route for us was a great help.  Unfortunately we were caught up in the heavy rain while in Te Anau and were unable to get to Milford Sound as the road was flooded and had to take a detour on leaving Te Anau because a bridge had been washed away [just bad timing] The Tranz Alpine Train was well worth doing and the cars to take us from there and also to and from the airport were on time and a great help. Your country has some great scenery and the people are really friendly.  We had a wonderful three weeks.
Your instructions for finding hotels was very good but I hope you don’t mind me just mentioning a couple of things for your reference for future travellers was that on the street map of Wellington the ferry terminal was marked in the wrong place and on arriving at Dunedin the instructions said to turn right at the Octagon and it should have been left, also that the Scenic Circle Dunedin City Hotel is on the right and there again it was on the left.  Apart from that it all went well.
Thanks again and I certainly would recommend your company to anyone else thinking of seeing New Zealand.

Diane

Jim Karen Danielle and Ashley Schulz, Custom Christchurch to Queenstown 7 day tour , Travelled on 8th September 2010

You will remember that you put together a self drive trip for me (Jim Schulz) and my family September 2010 on the South Island. I have been wanting to email you for the longest time and thank you for the great trip you provided for us. Everything went well and we were very pleased except for a few things you should know about. The Casa Bella Motel in Paihia, Bay of Islands was a real disappointment. The rooms were really really worn out and dirty and we would recommend you not booking that Motel again. But despite all that we made the best of it. The Waldorf Apartments in Auckland were very very nice, but I found it extremely difficult to stop in front of the property due to very limited space to check in and unload our luggage. Also I thought that we would have some kind of a view of Auckland Bay. Oh well, we ended our trip very happy and thankful for your fine work.